Advertisement

District rejects budget proposal

ELECTIONS RESULTS

Rush-Henrietta will plan 2nd vote, likely June 18

Justin Murphy

Rochester Democrat and Chronicle USA TODAY NETWORK

Voters in Rush-Henrietta narrowly rejected the school district's proposed 2024-25 budget on Tuesday, the first such vote locally since 2019.

There were 719 votes in favor versus 734 votes against, a margin of 15 votes.

The district will now have a second vote, likely on June 18. The administration can either present the same draft budget to residents for a second vote or can amend the proposal in an attempt to win more support.

If the June 18 vote fails, Rush-Henrietta must adopt a contingency budget with little to no increase over 2023-24. That hasn't happened locally since West Irondequoit in 2014.

Other districts, most recently Brighton and Brockport in 2019, managed to succeed on their second attempts.

Apart from Rush-Henrietta, this budget season was comparatively quiet after several consecutive years of hotly contested races centering around COVID-19 safety regulations and curriculum restrictions. Some districts, Penfield and Spencerport among them, had many candidates for school board, but the races lacked the vitriol that sometimes appeared in recent years.

In addition to Rush-Henrietta's budget, there was one additional defeated proposition in Monroe County. In Churchville-Chili, voters rejected the purchase of a zero-emission electric bus for \$446,000. The vote on that question was 420 in favor and 591 opposed.

Here are the full results from Tuesday's elections.

Brighton

Budget passes, 806 to 117. Christina Lee and Esther Winter elected to school board.

Brockpor t

Budget passes, 647 to 325. Kevin Parmele and David Stroup elected to fiveyear terms; Terry Ann Carbone elected to two-year term; Abigail Bristol not elected.

Churchville-Chili

Budget passes, 681 to 324. Two propositions passed while a third, to purchase a zero-emission electric bus for \$446,000, was defeated. Jonathan Payne, Alicia Nagle and Colleen Parker were elected to the school board; Kathryn Arzuaga was not elected.

East Irondequoit

Budget passes, 583 to 257. Stacey Beaumont, Doreen Swan and Patricia Storm elected to school board.

East Rochester

Budget passes, 202 to 23. Patrick Flanigan and Jennalee Herb elected to school board.

Fairport

Budget passes, 1,768 to 926. Two other propositions also pass. Mary Caitlin Wight and Richard Mueller elected to school board.

Gates Chili

Budget passes, 457 to 211. Two other propositions also pass. Robert Long, Nicole Littlewood and Kerrie Keyes elected to three-year terms; Tanya Srbinovski elected to one-year term; Joseph Rittler not elected.

1 of 2 6/3/2024, 9:20 PM

Greece

Budget passes, 1,662 to 1,142. Additional proposition also passes. Jordan Stenzel, Mary Lyke and Tracey Farmer elected to school board; Tammy Flores, Sherita Traywick and Tianna Johnson not elected.

Hilton

Budget passes, 876 to 519. Two other propositions also pass. Ed Mascadri and Stephanie Sloan elected to school board; Austin DeLorme and Mike Zillioux not elected.

Honeoye Falls-Lima Budget passes, 579 to 170. Carol Bellavia, Christopher Neff and Kelli Eberle elected to school board.

Penfield

Budget passes, 2,046 to 710. Two other propositions also pass. Christin Harley, Meghan Callan and Patrick Moriarty elected to school board; Sarah Pace, Chris D'Orso and James Ashby not elected.

Pittsford

Budget passes, 1,275 to 322. Three other propositions also pass. Sarah Pelusio, Rene Sanchez-Kazacos and Jeffrey Casey elected to school board.

Rush-Henrietta

Budget fails, 719 to 734. An additional proposition was approved. Scott Adair, Rachel Sherman and Kimberly De-Lardge elected to school board.

Spencerpor t

Budget passes, 831 to 470. Two other propositions also pass. Jonathan Schallmo and Michael Miceli elected to school board; Trisha Buscemi, Thomas Weaver and Brandon Dries not elected.

Victor

Budget passes, 949 to 273. Two other propositions also pass. Adam Snyder and Carol Prescott elected to school board; Elizabeth Mitchell not elected.

Webster

Budget passes, 1,885 to 1,112. Other proposition also passes. Jeffrey McCaffrey and Michele Lowes elected to school board.

West Irondequoit

Budget passes, 1,237 to 436. An additional proposition also passed. Kate Copeland, Tamara Wall and Kevin Schoepfel elected to school board; Gary Adams not elected.

Wheatland-Chili

Budget passes, 256 to 88. Two separate propositions also pass. Stephanie Ely, Heather Woerner, James Musshafen and Adria Callery elected to school board.

Copyright © 2024 Democrat and Chronicle 5/23/2024 Powered by TECNAVIA

Thursday, 05/23/2024 Page .A01

Copyright © 2024 Democrat and Chronicle 5/23/2024